top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid Nix

Google Photos

Updated: Oct 17, 2018

So, if you're like me, I try to use everything within a single ecosystem.  As you can tell with my choice here to use Google Blogger for my blogging site.  One of the strongest applications that Google has out there is Google Photos.  

Of course, since I'm on a break a work (Engineering Multi-tasking at it's best here), I'll just provide you the link to Google Photos information page itself if you want to see all of the benefits right HERE.  But, I'll just cut right to one of my favorite benefits of one of my favorite Google applications right now...


"How can I save some space on my phone's memory?"

This is a question that I get ALL THE TIME.  Most of them are from Android users.  Little did they know that they more than likely already have the Google Photos app and probably are already using it.  If not, you need to set it up.  Like immediately.  If you have the following icon

on your phone, then you have Google Photos.


So, since Google Photos allows you store "unlimited photos and videos for free, up to 16MP and 1080p HD" on their own cloud based servers; then, why not take advantage of this.  And, if it's on a fully secured and backed up cloud server, then why do you need those same photos on your phone's hard drive?  Right?

Well, Google has made it really easy to save space for you.  On your phone app, they literally gave you a 'button' to tap to do it quickly.  You just need to go to your menu options.  See the simple steps below:


Step 1:

In your Google Photos app, click on the menu (the (3) lines at the top left corner).














Step 2:

Then, click on "Free up space"...














Step 3:

The photo app will scan the files on your phone and compare them to the files on your cloud space and provide you with the amount of room that you will get back if you clear the photos on your phone that have already been backed up to the cloud.  It will not delete the photos/videos from your phone that have NOT been backed up yet.


Once it is done, you'll see a confirmation below just like the following image:



I hope this helps you see one of the biggest benefits I believed we've gained from Google Photos.  It has easily kept my phones memory free for several years now and I'm sure it'll help you all do the same.

16 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page