top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid Nix

The Arrival to Terlingua House, Terlingua, TX

What I ride Day 3 was.  We started 7:55am and ran into a little bit of showers, not major at all.  But the the rest of the ride, it was absolutely beautiful!  If I was experienced enough and just not a worry wart (or chicken shit), I would have taken my phone out to take some pictures of the scenery during our ride.  No, I'm not worried about hurting myself.  I was worried about dropping my phone!  Remember... Engineer... Techy... LOL.


Our first stop was in Twin Eagle rest area.  I guess Uncle Ed, who was leading, had to pee really bad.  Unfortunately, this rest stop didn't have any facilities.  LOL.  Didn't matter.  Everyone just scattered and found a small tree somewhere.  I didn't go.  I decided I could wait until I got to a gas station to use the restroom there.  With my luck, I would have been the one caught by a cop with my pecker hanging out and arrested for indecent exposure.  I'm smarter than that.  Ha!


We filled up in a small town just past Odessa and took a long "tank draining" trip down to Alpine, TX and ate at a small whole in the wall called Magoo's Place.  That's where I had a really good 3 "greasy" taco plate.  I guess grease is nothing for Texans down here.  Cool little joint though.  Here's a map link with data if you're interested in seeing more...  https://goo.gl/maps/pc3uyGnmqs52


After lunch, we had some very nice large swooping curve roads all the way down Texas 118 to the Terlingua House where we have rented for our whole time here.  I actually love those large swooping turns.  Where I can lean low sideways on the Harley for a while in a turn.  Feels good for some reason.  No need to slow down.  Just lean and ride.  Later, when we hit those hairpin turns, that's where my butt checks clinch up and pinch the seat, so I'll be taking those slow.


No Windows or Doors! WTF!

When we first arrived at the Terlingua House, I thought we were screwed.  I mean, as soon as we pulled up, from the outside, it looked like the house was not even completed!  Like, it was still under construction!!!  I mean, as you can see in the picture on the right, There's no windows on some of the openings and no doors!  What the hell!  We got screwed!


Glad to find out after further inspection that this is how the house was meant to be built. It turned out absolutely beautiful.  Don't let the outside of this house fool you.  Check out some of the inside pictures we took!



And the scenery out here is just absolute God given beauty.  I'm not sure if these Panoramic Photos from my phone can even capture what I'm seeing out here...



I'll end this for the day.  I'm technically in Day 4 this morning writing about yesterday's Day 3.  Hopefully, I can find some time tonight to tell you about today. :)  

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page