top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid Nix

The Final Day

Today is the last day in Terlingua, TX.  We had such a great day yesterday on Farm Road 170 to Presidio that we decided to ride back out and each lunch again at The Bean Cafe.  This time, we wanted to bring the other guys with us so they can experience this great span on 170.  Today was better as well since it didn't rain and the roads are dry.  Meaning, we can go a little faster and enjoy those turns today.


Sunday's Church Day


Being a Sunday morning, before we could ride out to Presidio, we need to wait for Uncle Ed, Dan, and Dick.  These guys, in the middle of nowhere, still will find a church to go to on a Sunday morning.  Man, I really couldn't be more impressed.  They found a baptist church that they were able to attend, but I'm not able to remember the name of it for some reason.  I do remember they talked about the sermon was about attention to details.  The church also apparently showed a video of a welder cutting a pipe with tension on it.  When he finished the cut, the welder was thrown off the pipe from the release of the tension.  It seemed like it would have been neat to be in a church that showed videos as part of the sermon.


Another lunch at The Bean Cafe


Once Uncle Ed, Dan, and Dick finished church, they called Dad and let him know so we can be out by the road in front of the Terlingua House as they pass us up and we join in.  Farm Road 170 was definitely nicer on this day.  We made it to The Bean Cafe with no problem and all sat and ate our lunch there.  Since I had a salad yesterday, and I was lucky enough to make it back today, I definitely do not want to miss the sandwich that they named "The Elvis Presley".  The ingredients to this sandwich is:

  • Bacon

  • Peanut Butter

  • Honey

  • Bananas

  • all on a buttered wheat berry bread

It was very good!  Basically just a peanut butter and banana sandwich, which I used to eat all the time, but with bacon.


There are two kinds of bikes; those that have been dropped, and those that will be dropped...

Those are the words my dad told me when I dropped his Harley on my first ride 4 years ago on the way to Sturgis, South Dakota.  On that ride, I was doing a U-turn using my front brakes and the minute my front tire hit some pea gravel, down I went.  This time, on this day however, I wasn't even on the bike!  This was aggravating for me.  I thought I did everything right...


The site of my drop. Very steep incline...

My dad decided to stop on this incline.  For him, it was no problem.  He's on his Gold Wing Trike and just had to put the parking brake on.  I moved up a little to try to find a less steep incline to park at.  I kept it straight with the road and put my kick stand down.  I stood up a bit and noticed the bike moved back a little once I got off of it, so I turned my front wheel and all seemed fine.  I turned around and noticed Dick was having an issues keeping his two wheeled Gold Wing from moving back so I started to walk towards him to help him out.  About twenty feet from my bike, I started to hear a little scraping.  I turned around in enough time to see my bike rolling backwards and then turn over to the side and tumble over.  Ugh.  I mean, it really tumbled over on that incline.  Flat on the right side.  I broke the right side mirror and the brake level.  So aggravating...  Eventually, Dick was able to get his bike parked and he and Dad helped me stand mine back up.  We straightened the pegs out to finish the ride and we decided to just leave and head back.  I was in a bad mood, and they all felt it.  And, poor Dick was trying to turn around himself and over goes his bike.  Ugh!  I was even more frustrated at that point.  What a crappy end to that this day.  And honestly, this was on my mind so much for the rest of the day, I don't even remember what else we did that day!


I was able to find all the parts that I needed on Amazon for just $65.99.  So, that was a blessing.  I ordered the parts and they were set to deliver on the same day that we get back to my dad's house.  So this is perfect.  I can get back, and replace the parts that I broke.

11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page